For Immediate Release

Contact: Angela Hale

Austin, Texas – January 7, 2013 -TCFV congratulates the new members of the US House and Senate and calls on
Congress to reauthorize the Violence Against Women Act. Now.

The Texas Council on Family Violence (TCFV) welcomes the new Texas members of the United States Congress both in the Senate and House:

Ted Cruz, Senate
Julian Castro, CD-20
Pete Gallego, CD-23
Beto O’Rourke, CD-16
Steve Stockman, CD-36
Marc Veasey, CD-33
Filemon Vela, CD-34
Randy Weber, CD-14
Roger Williams, CD-25

Gloria Terry, TCFV President, urges new members as well as long-serving members
of Congress to reauthorize the Violence Against Women Act, “Job one must be the
reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA).”

Despite strong bi-partisan support for the highly effective VAWA, the previous Congress
failed to reauthorize the act, leaving this important effort to the new Congress. VAWA
works: since its original passage in 1994, annual rates of domestic violence have
plummeted more than 60 percent. Still, intimate partner violence in Texas continues to
weigh on families and communities: in 2011, 102 women were killed by their batterers and
some 79,053 victims accessed family violence services in fiscal year 2012 alone.

Terry said, “In a time of significant federal gridlock evidenced by failed and sometimes
wasteful federal measures, VAWA represents the opposite: a well-vetted and successful
approach to helping victims of intimate partner violence obtain safety and to holding
batterers accountable.”