Texas Council on Family Violence
search cast

Service Provider Name:

Services Offered:

County:

City or Zip (Physical location of the shelter)

TCFV Region (Learn more about Regions) :

Download the Print Version

What is a Family Violence Service Provider?

In Texas, there are over 100 family violence service providers. These providers are locally operated, community-based nonprofit organizations that offer quality victim-centered services to survivors of family violence and their children. Texas family violence service providers may offer a variety of critical services such as 24-hour emergency shelter, nonresidential services or advocacy. Services offered vary by community. To learn more about your local provider, please contact them directly. The family violence service providers listed in the Texas Council on Family Violence (TCFV) Directory are TCFV program members and/or programs funded by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC).

What is an HHSC-Funded Center?

Of the 100 family violence service providers in the state, 69 Shelter Centers and 10 Nonresidential Centers are funded by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) Family Violence Program. HHSC-Funded Centers, which have the meaning outlined in Section 51.002 of the Human Resource Code, are operated by a public or private nonprofit organization and provide comprehensive residential and/or nonresidential services to victims of family violence. These comprehensive services include, but are not limited to, 24-hour emergency shelter, crisis hotlines, and supportive services specific to the needs of victims of family violence and their families. The Texas Administrative Code further defines the comprehensive services that these centers offer, for more information visit www.sos.state.tx.us/tac/.

In addition to Shelter and Nonresidential centers, HHSC also funds family violence Special Projects which provide at least one specialized family violence service in their community.

Counties
Programs
Maps 2.

Battering Intervention and Prevention Programs

Texas Battering Intervention and Prevention Programs (BIPPs) provide quality and effective services to offenders of family violence. These programs are charged with promoting safety to victims of family violence and achieving social change necessary to eliminate family violence. The programs listed comply with state guidelines, and are funded by the Community Justice Assistance Division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice. The state guidelines and information about all accredited BIPPs can be viewed at www.tcfv.org.

Amarillo

Family Support Services
Potter County
Kathy Tortoreo
ktortoreo@fss-ama.org
Phone: (806) 342-2513

Bastrop

Family Crisis Center
Bastrop County
Don Nichols
DonaldN@familycrisiscenter.us
Phone: (512) 321-7760

Beaumont

Family Services of Southeast Texas
Jefferson County
Terry Brown
tbrown@westrengthenfamilies.org
Phone: (409) 833-2668

Brownsville

Friendship of Women, Inc.
Cameron County
Daisy Lopez
bipp@fowinc.com
Phone: (956) 546-6694

Corpus Christi

Women’s Shelter of South Texas
Nueces County
Traci McClellan
tmcclellan@thewomensshelter.org
Phone: (361) 884-2900

Dallas

The Family Place
Dallas County
David Almager
dalmager@familyplace.org
Phone: (214) 692-8295

Denton

Denton County Friends of the Family, Inc.
Denton County
Hillarye Hightower
hillarye@dcfof.org
Phone: (940) 387-5131

El Paso

Center Against Family Violence
El Paso County
Adrian Chavira
AChavira@cafv.org
Phone: (915) 562-0077

Garland

New Beginning Center
Dallas County
Steve Jackman
sjackman@newbeginningcenter.org
Phone: (972) 276-0423 Ext 226

Hempstead

Focusing Families
Waller County
Julie Stanfill
jstanfill@focusing-families.org
Phone: (979) 826-3290

Houston

Aid to Victims of Domestic Abuse
Harris County
Chastidy Patterson
chastidym@avda-tx.org
Phone: (713) 224-9911 ext 207

Lubbock

Women’s Protective Services
Lubbock County
Thomas Garcia
tgarcia@wpslbk.org
Phone: (806) 748-5292

McAllen

Men Against Violence
Hidalgo County
Nereyda Guerrero
nereydaguerrero1@gmail.com
Phone: (956) 664-2826

Midland

Project ADAM-A Program of Safe Place of the Permian Basin
Midland County
Tonya Eckert
teckert@safeplacenow.com
Phone: (432) 522-2700

Perryton

Panhandle Crisis Center
Ochiltree County
Jamie Casdorph
asstdir@ptsi.net
Phone: (806) 435-5008

Plainview

Hale County
Crisis Center of the Plains
Kay Harris
harris@crisisctr.com
Phone: (806) 293-9772

Plano

Hope’s Door
Collin County
Lois Vaillancourt
lois.vaillancourt@hopesdoorinc.org
Phone: (972) 422-2911

San Antonio

Family Violence Prevention Services
Bexar County
Michael Croyle
mike.croyle@fvps.org
Phone: (210) 930-3669

Stafford

WCSI BIPP Program
Fort Bend County
Marilyn Hamilton
wcsi2@aol.com
Phone: (281) 403-0838

Stephenville

Erath County
STAR Council on Substance Abuse
Marilyn Pipes
mpipes@starcouncil.org
Phone: (254) 965-5515

Tarrant

Women’s Haven of Tarrant County
Arlington County
Vance Lambert
vlambert@safehaventc.org
Phone: (817) 324-6884

Texarkana

Domestic Violence Prevention
Bowie County
Steve Fisher
steve@dvptxk.org
Phone: (903) 794-4000

Tyler

Violence Intervention Network
Smith County
Angie Vasquez
cvinassistant@etcc.org
Phone: (903) 579-2505

Victoria

Mid-Coast family Services
Victoria County
Tammy Harger
tharger@midcoastfamily.org
Phone: (361) 575-7842